The 1603 manor house at Les Granges de Beauvoir Manoris one of Guernsey’s most complete examples of early 17th C architecture and is truly one of the Islands’ finest houses.
Largely untouched, the house was in rather poor condition in 2007 when we made our first site visit however many architectural features remained, including oak A-frames, timber floors and beams, 4 magnificent historic fireplaces, 17th C panelling, as well as the unique tourelle staircase.
Dilapidated timber outbuildings and a porch over the front door were removed and a major programme of careful conservation and repair was carried out to the main house, commencing in 2008.
These works included removal of the roofs and preservation of the 17th C A-frames, reinstating them under a new roof structure, re-slating and repairs to the masonry gables, verges and substantial chimney stacks. A cornice gutter was also added to give formality to the front elevation.
Down through the building the timber floor structures were carefully removed, conserved, strengthened and returned to their original positions. Some of the joists had been fire-damaged and matching replacements were installed. New services, replastering, repairs to historic windows, new oak interior doors and fixtures and fittings were all provided whilst extension works were commenced.
A substantial excavation provided extra ‘buried’ accommodation, including a large garage, which is hidden behind an old retaining wall. A traditional grapehouse was added to the south gable, which allows a new staircase to access the basement and upper floors. A large terrace and landscaping was formed over the concealed garage.
The ruined outbuilding to the south contains some medieval masonry and a splendid arch and this has been transformed with new oak A-frames and a thatch roof.